12 Days of Gratitude: Day 7

“Every day, think as you wake up, today I am fortunate to be alive, I have a precious human life, I am not going to waste it.” – Dalai Lama XIV

July

img_0172

In July, I moved to Kingston! I started my new leadership position and I got my own office at the Peace Corps Office. As much as I love my host family, I’ve got to admit that it felt nice to move into my own place. I hung up lights and reminders of home, slowly made the place feel like home.

For the first time in a long time, I was alone. I had time to reflect by myself and time to overthink everything. I struggled. I struggled with feeling like the new kid, with not having enough meaningful work to do at the office, with living in a restricted city with a lot of rules and off-limits areas, with not knowing many people. I knew this feeling all too well, as that’s largely how I felt when I first moved to my community, except this time, there wasn’t anyone wondering what the farina was doing there, what I was wearing or how I talked. Looking back, I am grateful that I felt this way.

img_0158

The tough times help us to know when we’ve got it good, but it’s so easy to lose sight of that, to forget how it really feels to be alone. I have this tendency to rush from one stage of life to the next, and that’s exactly what I did when I moved.

But Jamaica reminded me once more to tek taim. This concept of “taking time” is a Jamaican colloquialism, but has proven a recurring theme throughout my service. It’s the advice that was given to us by a PCV on our first day in Jamaica; it’s advice that we passed on to the next two groups of incoming PCVs. To slow down and really take time to feel, to learn, to grow. I am so grateful for that reminder. It’s a lesson I’m still learning.

Oh, and living less than a mile away from Devon House and their famous ice cream. I’m really grateful for that.

img_0422

Along with my move came new experiences, like exploring Lime Cay (pronounced “key”), which is a small island near the coast of Kingston. It came with the full realization that I was about to spend another whole year in Jamaica that would surely hold new lessons learned and places explored! For the adventures and the possibilities, I am grateful.

img_0180

More of Logan’s family came to visit in July! I met his mom, stepdad, brother and sister-in-law and they are all wonderful (of course). For more beautiful souls in my life, time spent laughing and weekends at all-inclusive resorts, I am grateful.

My life is a good one.

Leave a Reply

