Photo Tour: My Kingston Apartment

Have I mentioned that I don’t live in the “bush” anymore? That’s right, folks! I now reside in – K i n g s t o n C i t y – !

Kingston is home to nearly a third of Jamaica’s 2.7 million residents, now including me. I’ve been settling into my uptown apartment and my new role as the Peace Corps Volunteer Leader and have received many requests for virtual tours of my new space.

Honestly, it’s the nicest place I’ve ever lived in. It’s the first time I’ve lived totally on my own, without any roommates. Because of safety restrictions, there are only a few neighborhoods in which Peace Corps Volunteers are allowed to live…so I live in a really nice neighborhood.

Without further ado, welcome to mi yaad!

IMG_0330

Can I still call it mi yaad if it’s an apartment?

IMG_0294 IMG_0295 IMG_0297 IMG_0298

My spaces are very important to me. I try to be very intentional and love to fill my home with sweet things, faces and pictures of places.

IMG_0299 IMG_0303 IMG_0304 IMG_0307

My hallway and dining room area are bright and airy. The space catches a nice cross breeze between the front and back doors and gets both morning and evening light.

IMG_0333 IMG_0316 IMG_0311

Kingston is much hotter than my community in Trelawny, so I have no need for a blanket. I brought a few small items back with me after my trip home to make my space feel more like home, like copper wire LED lights and photo squares from Artifact Uprising.

IMG_0309 IMG_0329 IMG_0313 IMG_0319

Things on top of tables. I found this silver tray inside of my oven…use what you’ve got, am I right?

IMG_0318

Oh hai. Post-yoga photo shoot, heh.

IMG_0328

IMG_0268

Oh, and here’s the view from my doorstep on a stormy Sunday afternoon. Isn’t it lovely?

One last thing – my complex has a pool. Basically I’ve been pinching myself this whole time wondering, “Am I really still in the Peace Corps?” ….and then I check my bank account. Yep, definitely still in the Peace Corps.

Each day, I am reminded in some small way that this is where I’m meant to be.

2 thoughts on “Photo Tour: My Kingston Apartment

Leave a Reply

