One year pon di rock

March 11th. A year ago today, I was on a plane headed to Kingston with a hodgepodge group of weirdos I didn’t really know (but have come to love), totally anxious and excited for what was to come.
IMG_8448.JPG
Yesterday, that fresh group of weirdos arrived and (lucky me!) I got to meet them. I look at them and see my own memories. I see America. I see new friends! I see openness and I see nerves. I see genuine excitement and energy and the feeling is so contagious.

A year ago today, two years seemed like forever. Today, I am wondering how this last year of adventure, learning, teaching, living has flown by so quickly and am humbled and slightly terrified about how quickly the next year will zoom past.

Some days are still really hard. But that’s life, isn’t it? A year in, I am comfortable in Jamaica. I feel loved in Jamaica. I feel at home in Jamaica.

I have made a conscious effort to live my life in Jamaica, not to consider this to be “giving up” two years of it. Sure, I left behind comforts, conveniences and the familiar, but this is still my life and I have every intention to keep living it, enjoying it, and learning from it.

12 months down, 15 more to go. Thanks to all of you for your love, support, and for following my adventure. Nuff love an respek fi unu!

IMG_8449.JPG

Leave a Reply

