Giving thanks

Happy turkey day y’all!

In Jamaica, when you greet someone pon di road, a common reply is “I’m giving thanks.” It’s a way to say, despite the trials they may be faced with, they are still grateful for what they do have.

It’s my first-ever Thanksgiving away from home. Had you asked me back in the spring, I probably would have been worried about feeling sad today. I was oddly melancholy on Easter, afterall.

Thankfully (heh), today I’m full to the brim with gratitude. I’m thankful to feel so at home in rural Jamaica.

I’ve shared with my students what the Thanksgiving tradition has meant to me, and they were able to enumerate quite eloquently about what they are thankful for in their lives. It’s obvious that giving thanks is a concept already embedded into the culture here.

I made these little gratitude cards for each of the teachers at my school.

IMG_6955-0.JPG
They work so incredibly hard, so I figured thanksgiving was an appropriate time to help express how valued they are!

I should also announce that I’ve canceled my trip home for the holidays. There were a number of factors that played into my decision, but essentially this is where I need to be right now. I’m trying for next summer instead!

While I won’t be having any turkey this year, I’m just happy knowing that people at home are coming together to give thanks.

Bless up!

2 thoughts on “Giving thanks

  1. hey girlie! Been following your blog. I’ll be going to Jamaica for PC in March, soooo excited! Any tips, pointers, all that good stuff?
    Cheers,
    Babs

    1. Hi there Babs!
      Congratulations! It’s crazy how quickly time has passed, I can’t believe how soon Group 86 (yours) will be here.

      I’ll probably do a more elaborate post in the near future, but for now my advice is that you just enjoy your time in America. Eat all your favorite foods, spend lots of time with friends and family.

      The soon-to-be PCVs have created a Facebook group (Peace Corps Jamaica Group 86) and that’s generally a great forum for questions.

      Feel free to email me! Dominique(dot)gebru(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

      Thanks for reading!
      -Dominique

Leave a Reply

