International Literacy Day: Literacy and Sustainable Development

It’s UNESCO’s International Literacy Day. Yay! This year’s theme is “Literacy and Sustainable Development,” and today I was able to attend a literacy symposium for my school’s region.

Our keynote speaker, Dr. Paulette Ferrera, spoke about teaching children to “read the world.” She reminded us that reading is only one component of literacy and acknowledged the importance of teaching children how to interact with the world around them, inviting them to be curious and to be active participants in their communities.

Another Volunteer once told me that relationship building is one of our primary jobs. She was so right; often the best way to get through to children is by befriending them, showing them that you genuinely care about them.

While it can be challenging to accept that there’s no possible way for me (as one person) to provide literacy classes for all of the students who may need them, I’m constantly looking for ways to expand my reach at my school. My hope is that our revamped library project will help to achieve this goal, but I’d like to take things beyond that.

I’m planning to start a read-aloud hour once a week for anyone at the school who wants to listen. We’ll see how it goes. I’m between three choices for our first book; which one do you think we should read?? 

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
  2. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
  3. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

Leave your vote in the comments below 🙂

2 thoughts on “International Literacy Day: Literacy and Sustainable Development

  1. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory sounds like it would be fun! I loved it growing up. This is a great idea, my lady. Please let me know how it goes, as I would love to try this too! Love you ❤

Leave a Reply

