Charging in an unknown direction, Part 1

 

My school during practicum

Here we are. Well, I guess here I am (I’m not sure why I keep referring to myself as the Royal “We”).

One week away from site placement announcements. One week away from site orientation week.

We are all waist deep in work as we wrap up HUB sector training. This is our last week working at our practicum schools; at the end of this week, the other education sector volunteers and I will be putting on a fair/field day for all of the students we’ve been working with.

So much of what we’ve learned is coming to a head and I don’t think I’m alone when I say that sometimes I fear that we might explode under the weight of tests, deliverables, and readiness interviews. And yet I can say with damn near certainty that we will all succeed in this next step. I’m so excited to swear in as an official Volunteer (capital V!) at the end of this month, but beyond that, I am so excited to be doing it with this group of amazing people.

Fi true, dey cyan undastan mi more seh mi di tink. These government-issued friends are everything I could have asked for and more. Big up yaselves, Group 85!

I’m feeling a weird mix of excitement and lethargy. I’m not sure what the next week will hold…snap, I’m not even quite sure what tomorrow will hold. At this point, I’m just here. I suppose this is more or less normal. I’ll talk more in my next post about what last week entailed–I’m trying to learn to be kind to the hurried reader 😉

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

