WHY? (or, Staging, the three goals of the Peace Corps, and everything else)

I’ve arrived here in Miami for Staging, which I like to refer to as “that day where we have to fill out a ton of paperwork and meet each other and have ALL THE INFO shouted at us all at once.” So far? I sat near the pool and got a sunburn in ten minutes while finishing up some work. Great start, I know.

As I was working, it occurred to me that I could probably provide a little more context as to the Peace Corps’ goals and intended purpose. What’s the official word? “To promote world peace and friendship by fulfilling three goals:

-To help the people of interested countries in meeting their need for trained men and women

-To help promote a better understanding of Americans on the part of the peoples served

-To help promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans”

Seem simple? Well, I’m sure it won’t be, but it’s nice to have such vague goals. I think it allows for a more all-encompassing approach without putting too much pressure on us with regard to what we’re “supposed to be” doing.

Leave a Reply

